Lolo's Diary

Earth Excursion Log

25/08/24

Life has been not so daijoubu lately, I got ill and had to deal with some heartbreak. So I've taken time off from looking at screens all day and doing stuff with my hands. I'm feeling a lot better now, both physically and mentally. I got really into Umberto Eco's book "The Name of the Rose". Getting back into reading was very weird, I haven't been able to do that in a while, but I'm thoroughly enjoying getting to go to a dingy 14th century monastery every night.


19/06/24

I've been meeting lots of cool artist people lately and they inspire me greatly to improve my skills! Currently working on a GBA game with a group of awesome, talented, likeminded people, which is why I've been away from this site for a while. I've also been finishing up a minor in Media Psychology :)


30/04/24

I finally took the leap and purchased a 1990 Panasonic WJ-MX10 video mixer. I'm diving into the world of video synthesis! It's been very exciting so far, I cleared out a corner of my room for it and it felt like preparing a baby's room for its arrival. I already adopted a sister for it too.


2023


28-10-23

I've been getting back into playing Project Diva on the Vita lately. These games just get me in a chokehold sometimes. And every time I do get back into those games, it acts as a slippery slope until suddenly I'm watching a full recorded concert that was uploaded to YouTube 12 years ago and sobbing my brains out at 2 am. It's just what happens sometimes. I grew up with Vocaloid, it was a major part of my early internet experience and I don't think I'll ever be normal about it.


28-10-23

I recently went a couple days without internet as a deliberate challenge to see how it would affect my sense of worth. I've noticed I only feel good when I've done something my brain deems "productive". I can get the same amount of satisfaction from reading a good book as from working on a project, however something inside me tells me that, at the end of the day, I can only feel good about the latter. I need to learn to feel equally content when doing something "unproductive" as opposed to something "productive." It's a side effect of years and years of mandatory education focused entirely on producing satisfactory results instead of, y'know, learning. I fully blame the terrible high school I attended.

Anyway, those days without internet did put some things into perspective, but not in the way I expected. I've come to realise that we tend to romanticise the analog, and demonise the digital. These last two days have been peaceful, but they haven't been as soothing as they have been intensely boring. I wish I could relay the wise lessons I have learned in my two days away from the web, but I didn't really learn any.

If anything, I've learned that the internet is just where I belong. I'm a cyberspace traveler. I did, however, get a better sense of how the internet can also fill my mind with unnecessary clutter, and I intend to surf the web more mindfully in the future. At the end of my journey I was just excited to get back to work, sharing my interests with people online. Isn't it amazing how we can just do that with a few simple clicks? I'm so happy to live in this time of worldwide digital connection.


28-10-23

It's summer on the Northern Hemisphere and I spend my days inside my spaceship, coding this very site. I'm having a real hard time visualising what I want to do with it. I want to do so much but I just don't know how to format it all. I need to have a functional index page at least before I start working on any of the other shit. But I lose so much time staring at my screen, squeezing my brain to visualise a proper layout. But the brain is smoothe. The think-wrinkles are gone. I have no more inventive juice left to squeeze out. Do I sacrifice practicality for diegesis, or sacrifice diegesis for practicality??? Maybe I should browse the latest updated Neocities some more...